San Diego Rock n Roll Marathon

Posted: June 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I woke up at 4:00am, Sunday June 5th, to chase around my sister and watch her compete in her first ever Marathon I thought I was going to witness people of all ages and gender push themselves to limits few ever get to do. Fast forward a few days and that’s exactly what I felt I had done. After about 3 hours and 10 miles of walking in 100 degree weather I had enough. My sister managed to run 26.2 miles in 3 hours and 2 minutes. She finished 17th overall for women out of over 2,000 that finished the race. I know she wanted to beat 3 hours but she should be super proud of herself for what she accomplished. She was able to qualify for the Boston Marathon, so this time next year a familly vacation will be in store  to watch her take to the streets of Beantown on Patriots Day.

At least once in my life i would like to run alongside my sister just to see what she puts her body through. I don’t think i could keep up for more than about 3 miles but i would patheticaly try. It was a lot of fun running through the streets of downtown San Diego, around the city parks, and finishing off at Sea World. I was able to film a decent amount of video, however I also managed to get some nice photographs of the racers as well as my sister, Whitney Patton.

Leave a Reply

